Spokane Domestic Violence Lawyer
Serving Spokane Valley & Spokane County
Charges related to domestic violence are among the more common offenses prosecuted in Washington State and across the nation. These types of offenses can lead to serious penalties, including civil restraining orders (called protective orders). Charges are often based on one party’s word against the other, with little concrete evidence to back up their accusations.
If you have been accused of any type of domestic violence , it is critical that you retain the services of a capable criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. At Clark Law, P.L.L.C., you can turn to a trusted lawyer who has earned a reputation for competent and caring legal representation. Our firm is dedicated to providing you with the highest levels of service and helping you avoid the consequences of a domestic violence charge.
Book a free initial consultation with our Spokane domestic violence attorney by contacting us online or at (509) 800-5420.
What Is Considered as Domestic Violence in Washington State?
Under Washington law, domestic violence is defined as:
- Physical harm
- Bodily injury
- Infliction of fear of imminent physical harm, bodily injury, or assault
- Sexual assault
Because of its broad definition, domestic violence can include offenses such as kidnapping, burglary, criminal trespassing, property damage, false imprisonment, rape, and violation of restraining orders. These acts are committed against family or household members; this includes spouses, ex-spouses, intimate partners, current and former domestic partners, dating partners, those related by marriage or blood, those living together or who have lived together, parents and children, and grandparents and grandchildren.
When police officers are called to a domestic violence scene, they have the authority to arrest whomever they believe to have been the main aggressor. This can be done without a warrant. Mandatory arrests are also made for violations of protective orders. The person arrested will usually be jailed until they can see a judge, who may make a protective order a condition for release from jail.
Domestic violence offenses can be charged as misdemeanors, gross misdemeanors, or felonies, depending on the circumstances. Misdemeanors carry penalties such as up to 90 days in jail and/or fines of up to $1,000. Gross misdemeanors carry penalties such as up to 364 days in jail and/or fines of up to $5,000. The penalties for felonies will depend on what class of felony is involved. Felonies carry prison terms of up to five years, 10 years, or life, with fines ranging from $10,000 up to $50,000.
Additionally, the court may order alcohol or drug evaluation and treatment, a domestic violence batterers’ treatment program, other counseling, or community service instead of jail time.
Finally, if you are convicted of a domestic violence offense, you will have a permanent criminal record that can harm your eligibility for future employment, housing, advanced education, or professional career licenses.
For professional legal assistance, call (509) 800-5420 or contact us online today.
“This is what you call integrity, folks. He had nothing to gain by helping me. He is obviously a principled attorney.”
Award-Winning Criminal Defense Firm
Available 24/7 & Provide Free Consultations
Deeply Involved In the Spokane Community
A Rich Family History of Legal Experience